Cherished Memory of 2018

On the first day of 2018, I started a five-year “one question a day” journal. The questions have been thought-provoking and fun to answer.

Today, December 31st, the question is “What is your most cherished memory of this year?”

The year 2018 has been an incredible year filled with travel and plenty of valued time with family and friends. I published my third book this year, “Tess!”

thumbnail_Tess front cover jpeg file

I think a cherished memory is created when we experience something so incredible that all of our senses come together in response. There are more than a few memories that brought tears of joy this year, but my most vivid memory is our hike to San Josef Bay beach on the northwestern side of Vancouver Island on March 7th.

We drove our Honda CRV along a snowy, muddy, active logging road for over fifty kilometres from Port Hardy to Cape Scott Provincial Park on the northwest tip of Vancouver Island.

The parking lot was empty. The remoteness of the park gave me an unnerving sense of isolation, and I was nervous but not surprised we were the only ones there. Semi-retirement has us living in the Yukon while my husband works during the nicest six months of the year, when the weather cooperates. That leaves us traveling in the off-season with unpredictable weather, many closed campgrounds, and boarded up tourist venues along the way. The silver lining in the cloud is that we get to experience breathtaking locations without crowds of people.

The well-maintained path meandered through an old growth forest of towering western red cedars, hemlock, spruce, and balsam. Velvet green moss carpeted fallen trees and decaying stumps. Silence surrounded us, and we didn’t speak as we walked through the majestic grove.

IMG_3096

I stopped, overcome with emotion. In awe of the rain forest and its magnificent existence, I arched my neck to see where the tips of the giant trees touched the sky. I filled my lungs with clean, oxygen-rich air and closed my eyes for a moment before continuing along the path in contemplative silence.

Sunlight broke through the canopy in places illuminating small patches of lush ferns and evergreen huckleberry that covered the forest floor. The sheer size of the trees reminded me of my insignificance in the world and as we neared the edge of the forest more light filtered through the trees lifting my spirits. Warm air kissed my cheek and my pace increased with anticipation.

IMG_3100

The path ended and a huge expanse of sand stretched in front of us for what seemed like miles, the Pacific Ocean in the distance. A familiar scent of seaweed and sun-bleached driftwood transported me back to my childhood living in Campbell River. Salt settled on my lips from a gentle breeze.

The tide was out and my heart filled with happiness as I left the shadows of the peaceful forest and walked the breathtaking expanse of San Josef Bay beach toward the distant roar of the ocean. I drew a heart in the sand and watched it disappear beneath a small wave. 

We had the pristine beach to ourselves, a rare gift of solitude beneath a magnificent blue sky, and my eyes filled with tears of joy, my soul bursting with gratitude.

What is your most cherished memory of 2018?

I have many memories from this year and plan to create more in 2019.

Happy New Year!

 

Leave a comment